Backpacking in East Africa

When I was 19 I had saved up quite some money working at a store and wanted to go on a big adventure. Africa had been on my wishlist for a long time, because it had always fascinated me. Back in December 2010 my mom told me I had a relative in the USA who has an NGO with projects in Uganda and Rwanda, so I should get in touch with him and ask whether I could visit his projects there. If you’re interested in volunteering at the projects, visit:  http://groundworkopportunities.org/. Furthermore my host sister from the USA was in Kenya, so I had the perfect opportunity to travel these three countries. When my friend Nellie heard about my plans she said she wanted to join me and so in July 2011 the two of us packed our backpacks and went on a 5-week trip around East Africa.

Leave a comment